Crop Top Goes to Work

Pulling off a crop top takes a lot of guts.  Wearing one as a plus size babe takes extra courage, as this is an item of clothing not typically deemed as “acceptable” to be worn by a larger lady, with mainstream beauty standards being what they are.

So how does a plus sized gal – moi –  dare to wear a crop top to the office?

Let me show ya! 🙂

plus size houndstooth pants

I took this simple black 3/4 sleeved crop top and layered it over top of a sheer white collared shirt, to create a demure Monday morning polished and sophisticated look.plus size crop top

Since the majority of this outfit is quite monochromatic, I decided to add a blingy statement necklace with loud bright pinks and greens, and earrings to match.  (For other monochromatic looks click here, here and here.)

IMG_5383

Old Navy‘s Pixie pants were recently on sale again recently – which I immediately alerted everyone to via the FB page – you’re welcome 🙂

old navy sale
I look a little hysterical, I know! Shopping deals on perfect fitting pants do that to me 🙂

I found this great houndstooth pattern among them.  Just love the look of them with these glossy pumps!  IMG_5336

Plus, I finally unveiled the wine moto jacket y’all helped me buy … well, helped with your comments on FB to determine whether or not I should bring this baby home from Reitmans!  Haaza!

Reitmans moto jacket
Curious about my #ootd in this picture? Click here 🙂

How I Got The Look:

Wine Moto Jacket, Reitmans; Statement necklace and earrings, LOFT; Striped paten leather purse, Kate Spade NY; Houndstooth Pixie pants, Old Navy; Sheer collared white shirt, Winners; Black 3/4 sleeved crop top, Forever21; Black glossy pumps, Payless; Michael Kors bracelet watch

IMG_5367

 Have you LIKE’d the Petite Plus, Meow’s Facebook Page yet?

LIKE. Share. Tell A Friend, friend  🙂

PPMEOW logo1

IMG_5393.JPG

Author: PetitePlusMeow

Social Media Enthusiast. Learning Designer. Curvy Fashionista. I'm a 30-something Canadian born Bengali (parents are from Kolkata, India...for those of you who need to know that type of thing). I've been chubby-curvy-plus-sized my entire life. Standing at a height of 5'2 and with a darker complexion, it has always been a challenge finding outfits or "looks" that really suit me. Living in the fashionable city of Toronto since birth, with a solid career has finally allowed me to embrace my love of pretty fashions in clothing, shoes and everything in between.

9 thoughts on “Crop Top Goes to Work”

  1. LOVE this outfit Irene! You look polished and stylish. Im not sure I’d be brave enough to buy a crop top in the first place much less style it for work. I’m gaga for the wine coloured jacket from Reitmans! And your necklace is gorgeous!

    1. Oh hunni…I felt all kinda of nervous just taking this crop top to the cashier. But I really liked how this look turned out. Glad you are too 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to comment Marija!
      xo

Leave a comment