Studio Blue Yoga

Since my BollyFuze classes ended in Fall, I’ve been missing group exercise. And with spring around the corner, I wanted to try something new.   So when I came across another GroupOn deal for yoga classes in my hood, thought I’d check it out.

Studio Blue Yoga

Studio Blue Yoga (located on Dundas St. West, just before Duffrin) conveniently has a their class schedule and descriptions available online, where you can BOOK your session.  And they offer their first class for FREE!  So before I cash in my GroupOn voucher, I could check them out  before committing.

I personally haven’t practiced yoga in nearly two years.  At one point I got pretty good with my breathing and balance work, and even got to be a pretty flexible girl.  But, two years is a looooong time  and this chick ain’t as bendy as she used to be.   I was super nervous to go back into the classroom with  a bunch of wafer thin bun-headed girls, wearing nothing but LuLuLemon pants and sport bras that matched with zero sweat on their perfectly manicured eyebrows and likely full make-up faces.  Meanwhile, I would be drenched in sweat gasping for air in the corner, whist doing my rendition of downward dog pose, or worse… I imagined.  blueyoga

I started to do some digging for reviews on this place.  Wanted to know what other people thought of the studio, the instructors, the clientele.  And I discovered that this studio was brand spankin’ new… 5-weeks old in fact.  Their  website is simple and friendly.  There I found the little helpful reminders section (see image above) that helped me shake that scardy-cat voice in the back of my head.   The location is amazing, walking distance from my place.  The classes offered variety and options on various days of the week.  And I didn’t have to commit cash until I tried it out first.  SOLD! I searched my storage unit for my lime green yoga mat and I booked my first class!

The complimentary class I chose was a Tuesday evening class called: Foundations Flow — A beginner friendly and comprehensive class with a focus on anatomy. Includes Sun Salutations, Downward Dog flows and other fundamental postures. Suitable for all levels.  I got to the studio a bit early in hopes to chat with the owner and checkout the space for this blog review.  The bright, welcoming logo painted directly onto their walls can be seen from across Dundas St West, which was much appreciated for this first-timer looking for the location. I was greeted by Jess, a yoga instructor and the owner of Studio Blue and she gave me a tour of the facilities and how everything worked … plus a mug of ginger tea.

 
20140319-091951.jpg
Once you’ve checked in and signed their health & safety waiver, there is a long hallway filled with original artwork that was all photographed in their fancy space.  Sliding pocket-doors lead you into a lovely large space that is toasty warm. 
The entire yoga studio space has been fitted with ceiling heaters that warm up the objects in the room, so much so that I mistakenly thought the floors were heated.  Patrons need to bring their own yoga mats, towels and bottles of water as none of that is provided there.  However, there are yoga blocks available to help support you if you need them – they came in super handy for me as I relearn how to perform all the yoga poses.  There’s even a raised stage area at the front of the room for the instructor of the class, which I thought was a brilliant idea.   
 
20140319-091856.jpg
 
Towards the back of the studio there are separate change rooms for men and women, complete with benches, cubbies for your stuff and showers within each.  Unisex washrooms and a water-fountain station to refill bottles are back there too.  Super handy and convenient for those of us rushing to class after work.
20140319-091906.jpg
The 75-min Tuesday night class was a mixed group of 6 people, where we focused on breathing and balance in our movements and poses.  Since we were a small, but mighty few we got to do some exercises against the wall that really allowed the body to stretch completely by way of a half-moon pose.  My balance and breathing needs a lot of work.  But by the end of the class I found myself seriously relaxed, my whole body felt like butta and  I  floated home in a peaceful yoga bubble.  I had the most sound sleep that night that I’ve had in a long time.  I think there’s something to this yoga thang! 
  
I’ve always had a hard time spending money on ‘name brand’ gym clothes – so most of what I wear when working out are tops that have been demoted from my regular wardrobe and yoga pants when on sale from various retailers.  Usually a Target or Wamart and occasionally a Reitmans or Old Navy. Here’s what I wore to my first yoga class at Studio Blue:
20140319-091916.jpg
Tops: demoted pink  button-up Tee from Old Navy, long-sleeve activewear from Puma (on sale at Winners)
Bottoms: Yogalife black capri pants from Reitmans
 
In hindsight, wearing a top with buttons for anything exercise related is a total no-no for me.  With all the different poses involved, twists and body movements those buttons did not want to say buttoned.  The ‘girls’ got in the way of some of the poses done while on the mat, to be expected.  Next time, I will have to consider wearing a tight-fitting tank  underneath instead, to avoid “t-shirt creep”.   
 
I loved the class!  I’m definitely cashing in my voucher and going again!  This time I might try one of their more high-energy classes…soooo many to choose from…excited!    If only there was a Cuddle Pose + nap time to end every class with…hummmm.   I’ll make that suggestion at my next class and see what I can do friends 😉 
 
How many of y’all practice Yoga?  How many of you have thought about it, but feel a little intimidated to try?  Share your thoughts and experiences with me in the ‘comments’…let’s start a discussion!

Author: PetitePlusMeow

Social Media Enthusiast. Learning Designer. Curvy Fashionista. I'm a 30-something Canadian born Bengali (parents are from Kolkata, India...for those of you who need to know that type of thing). I've been chubby-curvy-plus-sized my entire life. Standing at a height of 5'2 and with a darker complexion, it has always been a challenge finding outfits or "looks" that really suit me. Living in the fashionable city of Toronto since birth, with a solid career has finally allowed me to embrace my love of pretty fashions in clothing, shoes and everything in between.

7 thoughts on “Studio Blue Yoga”

  1. I looooove yoga it’s been a couple of years since i did it regularly but I always found that it really helped me to relax and clear my head as well as make me physically stronger. I will definitely try a class here. Thanks Irene

    1. That’s fantastic Carissa! Thank you for the comment. Studio Blue has teamed up with PPMeow to offer its followers a fantastic $30 for 5 class deal. Stay tuned for details around that shortly!!! 🙂

    2. Hi Carissa, I hope you do come out and try a class at Studio Blue! Please introduce yourself when you come in 🙂

    1. I understand completely. As you read, I’m not able to bring myself on spending a lot on cash on clothes I’m gonna get sweaty in. Buuuut, highly recommend you go barefoot for better grip & traction on your mat friend.

Leave a comment